Chakra Colors: An In-Depth Look at the Green Chakra

Last updated on October 11th, 2023 at 09:36 pm

Discover how the fourth chakra, the Green or Anahata Chakra, affects physical, emotional, and spiritual wellbeing. Learn about the Heart Chakra's color, location, and how to rebalance it for feelings of joy and inner peace.

Chakra Colors: An In-Depth Look at the Green Chakra

In continuation of my series on the Chakras, in this article I’ll be discussing the fourth Chakra: The Green Chakra. It’s also known as the Heart Chakra or the Anahata Chakra.

The chakra system is a complex network of energy centers that govern our physical, emotional, and spiritual wellbeing. The Anahata Chakra, also known as the heart chakra, is one of the seven primary chakras in the body.

7 chakras
Image by Karin Henseler on Pixabay

About the Anahata Chakra

The Anahata Chakra is associated with the color green and is often depicted as a spinning wheel of green light. This energy center is responsible for our ability to love[1], feel compassion, and form meaningful relationships.

When our heart chakra is balanced, we are able to connect deeply with others and experience a sense of joy and inner peace.

Heart Chakra Location

The Heart Chakra is located at the center of the chest, near the heart, hence the name. It is where our emotions rise up into our being.

While there is some different in opinion on whether the chakra is towards the front or back of the chest, most people direct their focus on the direct center under the breastbone.

Anahata Chakra Heart Chakra Green Chakra
The Anahatra Chakra | Image by Peter-Lomas on Pixabay

Symptoms of Imbalance in the Green Chakra

When our heart chakra is imbalanced, we may experience a range of physical, emotional, and spiritual symptoms.

Physical symptoms may include heart palpitations, high blood pressure, or respiratory issues. Emotional symptoms may manifest as difficulty expressing love, feeling disconnected from others, or an inability to forgive. Spiritual symptoms may include a lack of trust in the universe, a feeling of being spiritually disconnected, or a lack of purpose.

If you find that you frequently need to emotionally wall yourself from others, there’s a good chance that your Heart Chakra is out of balance. Fortunately, there are many options to rebalancing the chakra.

An unbalanced or blocked Green Chakra may also cause social anxiety and low self-esteem.[2]

Balancing the Anahata Chakra

There are many ways to balance the heart chakra and restore harmony to this energy center. Some effective methods include practicing self-love, spending time in nature, meditating on the color green, and engaging in heart-opening yoga poses such as cobra, upward dog, and fish pose. Additionally, incorporating green foods and herbs into your diet can help to support the heart chakra.

Meditation with the following stones either touching the body or held within the palms of the hands can also help balance the Anahata Chakra.

  • Jade
  • Green Tourmaline
  • Green Calcite

Massage therapy can also be used to stimulate the Anahata Chakra and promote balance in this energy center. The massage therapist can focus on the area around the heart and chest, applying gentle pressure to help release any blockages or tension in the muscles and connective tissues. This can help to increase blood flow to the area, promote the flow of energy through the chakra, and restore balance to the heart chakra.

Chakra Healing Treatment
Anahata Chakra Healing Treatment using crytsals

In addition to massage therapy, other techniques such as aromatherapy, crystal healing, and sound healing can also be used to support the Anahata Chakra. Ultimately, the best way to balance the green chakra is to integrate a holistic approach that incorporates healthy habits, such as eating a balanced diet, getting regular exercise, practicing mindfulness, and cultivating positive relationships with others.

The Green Chakra: Conclusion

The green chakra, or Anahata Chakra, is a vital energy center responsible for our ability to love, feel compassion, and form meaningful relationships. By understanding the symptoms of imbalance and implementing methods to balance the heart chakra, we can cultivate a greater sense of wellbeing and connectedness in our lives.

Sources & Additional Reading:

1. – The 7 Primary Chakras Colors

2. CarolTuttle – The Importance of the Green Chakra and How to Balance It

Freelance Writer

I'm a freelance writer from Israel. I like to write about just about anything. English is my 2nd language so please forgive me if my writing isn't perfect.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top